Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals is an initiative of the Obama administration which gives certain undocumented immigrants reprieve from deportation. Although it does not confer legal status on the beneficiaries, it grants permission to eligible applicants to work in the United States. It benefits only those immigrants who came into the United States illegally while they were still children. To ensure that only such young people who are responsible members of the community benefit from this Order, certain criteria were established to determine eligible individuals. As at May 2014, more than 500,000 applications for DACA has been granted by the USCIS. Since a deferred action granted is only valid for two years, beneficiaries are required to apply for a renewal within four months before the expiration of their current deferred action.

To qualify, an applicant must prove the following to the USCIS:
1. That he is under the age of 31 as of June 15, 2012;
2. That he Came to the United States before reaching his 16th birthday;
3. That he has continuously resided in the United States since June 15, 2007, up to the present time;
4. That he was physically present in the United States on June 15, 2012, and at the time of making his request for consideration of deferred action with USCIS;
5. That he entered without inspection before June 15, 2012, or his lawful immigration status expired as of June 15, 2012;
6. That he is currently in school, has graduated or obtained a certificate of completion from high school, has obtained a general education development (GED) certificate, or is an honorably discharged veteran of the Coast Guard or Armed Forces of the United States; and
7. That he has not been convicted of a felony, significant misdemeanor, three or more other misdemeanors, and does not otherwise pose a threat to national security or public safety.

Also note that one must be at least fifteen years to apply for DACA. However people who are already in removal proceedings may apply for DACA without being up to fifteen years of age.

After determining that he qualifies for DACA, an applicant must fill the necessary forms, pay the required fees and assemble the relevant evidence to prove his case. Thereafter, he must mail his application to the USCIS and wait for further instruction from them.

USCIS offers only one opportunity for each applicant to prove his case. If an application is rejected, there is no provision for appeal. For help filling your application, whether for the initial application or renewal, consult an affordable attorney at 310-920-6751.

Published by annemmeje

Hello, I am Anne: Lawyer, Inspirational Blogger, Christian, Freelance Writer, and Mediator. My job is to inspire you to be the best you can be. Let's get started!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: